Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default First oil change attempt...questions

Ok, so tomorrow I am going to attempt to change my oil as we are now sitting at 54+ hours. I have the remote oil filter so that should help. I have changed oil in cars about 753 times, never in a boat. I figured I could surely do it myself for way less than what the dealer charges. I almost choked when I heard the quote! Do you guys have any tips? I know I have to buy an extractor to get the oil out but where do I extract it from? Same place where you fill it? Can I get the extractor at Auto zone or Walmart? I seem to remember a pic on here at one time of someone's boat with oil draining into a pan from a tube that was coming out of the rear plug above the wakeplate?? Is that right or was I seeing things? Also I assume the owner's manual will tell me what kind of filter and oil to put in. Sorry for the questions....I'm a newb and at the rate we are racking up the hours I will probably have to do this at least once more this summer...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    SOLD! 2011 Mobius LSV 325HP EFI
    Digital Cruise Pro, Wakeplate, Kenwood KM550U and KCA-RC107MR x2, Kicker ZXM700.5, Kicker 6.5 Cabins, 10'' Kicker CompVT sub, Wetsounds SYN 4, Wetsounds REV10s, Wetsounds WS420Q, Gravity VI Surf Ballast, Acme 537

Board: '12 LF Harley (Monster) 139
    Her Board: '11 Ronix Krush 128
    Kids Board: '13 Ronix Vision 120
    Skate: LF Faction 44
    Surf: LF Custom Quad & XXX

Tow Rig:
    2011 Toyota Tundra CrewMax TRD Magnetic Grey
    3/1 Truxx Lift, and some other stuff...

My remote drain hose wont fit out the transome drain. Back when I had a direct drive I could do that as the drain was right under the motor and that ws probly the cleanest oil change I ever performed.