Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Default Trailer hitch hight of single axle Outback Trailer

Hi. I have a 2007 Moomba Outback, but right it is far away in storage.

I'm getting a new car (Honda Pilot) and will need to occasionally tow the boat.

How high does the hitch need to be for this trailer? I have the single axle trailer that came new with the boat.

I seem to recall that the bottom edge of the hitch on the trailer side was 19" above ground when the trailer is level. Can anyone confirm this?

Also, I hope the 2008 AWD Pilot will be able to handle this boat. I plan on trailering it 3 or 4 times/year.

Thanks,

Laz
    2007 Moomba Outback
    99.999% Slalom, 0.001% Wakeboarding

I hope it'll be okay. The outback and trailer weigh 3600 lbs, so 4500 pounds should be enough. I only plan to trailer the boat a few times per year.

So far I've managed with a minivan with 3500 lbs capacity, but I'm sure I'll destroy the transmission if I keep using this car.

Laz
    2007 Moomba Outback

I tow occaisionally with a Honda Ridgeline, which is quite similar to the Pilot. My towing capacity is 5000 lbs, and it pulls the Outback V with no issues.

The height of the factory hitch works really well, so you may want to ensure that the Pilot and Ridgeline are approximately the same height.

The other thing you can do is get a reciever that has some lift or drop to adjust the height where you want it.

Laz - The center line of the receiver opening is 20 1/2 inches above the ground. With the slide in the receiver, distance from the ground to the top of the tow ball is 21 3/4 inches. My Suburban pulls an 07 Outback on a tandem axle trailer. Gives me plenty of pulling and braking power to travel safely. - Deerfield

Deerfield, thanks. That info will be quite useful.

Ed: We are planning on getting the Pilot for a number of reasons. My wife wants it for winter driving and carpooling. I want it to tow the boat.