Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Unable to hold speed with 2007 Outback

I have a 2007 Moomba Outback with the 325 Indmar engine. The boat has 40 hours on the meter. It had its 20 hour service about 3 weeks ago and everything looked good. I love everything about this boat except the throttle control.

It's hard to explain, but I can't make small corrections in speed while towing skiers. If the speed drops or increases and I need to make a small adjustment, I "bump" the throttle a bit and the boat may or may not respond. If I "bump" the throttle a second time, the boat appears to recognize both throttle "bumps" at once and either surges or falls off drastically. Sometimes 5 or 10 miles an hour all at once. I'm a very experienced driver (I pull a ski show on the weekends) and I have attempted to adjust to this by driving the boat differently but nothing seems to work. The throttle never responds the same way twice.

My dealer has been awesome and is working on the issue . I was just curious if anyone else has had this same issue and what the problem might be.

Thanks

Not sure what you mean by Bump, but I recommend you use your thumb and forefinger to adjust throttle.. Keep your wrist on the side pad by the throttle and ease it up/down. 325HP is a lot to operate this boat and if I understand what you mean by bump, it probably from moving it too much.. hope I am not misunderstanding/oversimplifying this....

Good luck..
    BW
    Brad

2011 Launch 21V Sold... boatless replaced with a Jeep JKUR
    2006 Moomba Mobius LSV sold
    2004 Outback sold

Thanks for the reply 04Outback. I appreciate your input but I'm not sure I did a very good job of explaining this issue.

When I say bump the throttle, I mean to make a small adjustment. To pickup or reduce speed so that it feels like a constant ride for the skier.