Default Questions about auto wake on possible MAX purchase

Hello, been lurking for a while.
    Looking for a newer boat to surf, wake and ski here and there. I’d say mostly surf, or 80% of the time.

I found a 2019 without autowake, but it has auto surf 2.0. Hoping to put a deposit on it today.

I’ve read some like it some don’t.

How much of an issue would this be for a beginner? Can you add it?

The boat is in great shape, only 105 hours, few scratches, but otherwise mint. Will go down next weekend to drive,ride etc..

And it is in my budget, trying to stay under $70k.

Thanks for any replies,
    Bruce

I'm no expert on Autowake but i don't think it can be added on. We have had Autowake for a year now with our 21 Craz and I'm still trying to get comfortable with it. I don't think it is a must have by any means, but for a beginner who hasn't done much surfing and isn't familiar with how to set up a boat to surf it would probably be nice to have. That being said it is not hard to learn to set up a boat for surfing. It will take some time and trial and error but it isn't hard at all. There are a ton of videos and info on it. If the boat you are looking at checks all the boxes i wouldn't pass on it just because it doesn't have autowake.

Wake9 has great videos
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKiSpHn1hug
    Scott
    2021 Craz
    2007 Mobius LSV
    1997 Sea Ray 190

I wouldn’t say it’s a must have but a nice option to use from time to time to check roll and pitch angles. I’ve used it maybe a handful of times in my ~3 years of having my Max w/ AutoWake.

The recipe for the Max is pretty well covered both on here, in videos and on the FB groups out there. Add the Wakemakers upgrade bags, get some extra lead and fill everything full. Stock plate settings are pretty dialed in based on my testing of different settings over the years, especially the first two just trying to understand what the boat likes and doesn’t.
    2019 Moomba Max "MOOMBAE"