Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Wakemakers Gravity 3 Ballast upgrade - 2008 XLV gg

I'm fairly new here, but wanted to reach out to see if anyone had experience doing this wakemakers upgrade?

I'm new to the boating world all together, but came across this upgrade and it looks like a no brainer. The XLV I bought last year filled and drained so inconsistently we pretty much stopped trying to surf. I'm sure those orbit sprinkler systems have been bashed here for years. Its terrible, I can't wait to rip it all out.

Here's the deal...I'm pretty mechanically sound. I've torn down cars and done engine conversions, etc. I watched the video on wake makers a dozen times before ordering and I feel 100% confident in my ability to install this system.

I have 3 friends that have been boating people since birth, so I always rely on them to run things by.

All 3 of them think I'm absolutely insane for wanting to drill these 2 thru holes in the bottom of the boat myself. Am I missing something? I don't mind paying to have it installed, but I just like to do these things myself.

The other problem with having a fiberglass place do it is that my boat is already stored/winterized in a warehouse that has a rack system. It has to be put in the water before I can get back on the trailer to the fiberglass shop. I don't want it to spend the first month of the summer in the shop.

Quote Originally Posted by Beas View Post
    I'm fairly new here, but wanted to reach out to see if anyone had experience doing this wakemakers upgrade?

I'm new to the boating world all together, but came across this upgrade and it looks like a no brainer. The XLV I bought last year filled and drained so inconsistently we pretty much stopped trying to surf. I'm sure those orbit sprinkler systems have been bashed here for years. Its terrible, I can't wait to rip it all out.