Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Gelcoat Scratches

I got a couple scratches in my gel coat today from a wakeboard bumping into the transom above the swim platform(careless guests). What is the best way to get rid of these? I'm new to any sort of finishing/polishing/buffing so I'll take advice on any specific products or polishers used. How do you tell if a scratch is bad enough to need sandpaper? Obviously looking for a way to get rid of the scratch without then having to polish the whole boat to make it look consistent again. Scratch is not bad enough to be able to feel it with my hand, but any scratch on blue gel coat is white and very visible. Thanks for your help.
    2022 Mojo

I remove scratches with a 1500 grit sponge wet sand followed by a scratch remover wax compound, then lastly a polishing wax and buff.

If your nervous doing this, find an area under the boat or somewhere out of sight that has a small scratch and practice using this process. Once comfortable move on to the more obvious areas..
    2021 Moomba Max

For heavier scratches

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

For lighter scratches

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Start with the least aggressive first (the polish) and see if it will buff out. If it doesn't come out, use the compound and once the scratch is gone using the compound, go over it with the polish.
    Last edited by 996scott; 09-11-2021 at 12:19 PM.
    Scott
    2021 Craz
    2007 Mobius LSV
    1997 Sea Ray 190