Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Audio Engine Hum in Speakers

I have a 2014 Moomba Mondo and when I reconnected my Speakers\Stereo\Amp to the Battery this season, I am getting an Engine Hum when I start the boat in the speakers.

What should the wiring be to avoid this? I do not have a separate battery for the speakers\stereo\amp. I have two wires (red and black) coming from the Amp. Should the black\ground be grounded to metal on the boat not the battery itself?

Thanks
    Last edited by arotoli; 06-05-2021 at 12:20 PM.

Do you have 2 batteries and a switch for them? I was having issues with the speakers and sound for a long time with my 2014 Mojo. I then saw someone post that you should always only run off just one battery ( I was always running off both batteries at once - as that's what I was originally told to do). As soon as I switched to just running off one battery at a time, I haven't had a problem with my speakers since... If you're still having issues, I have the same year as your boat, different model, but probably similar electrical setup for speakers / stereo and amp. Keep me posted, and I can take pictures of how mine is connected next time I'm at the cottage...
    ----------------------------------------
    2014 Moomba Mojo 2.5
    2013 Moomba LSV (Sold)
    2013 Moomba Outback V (Sold)
    2002 Mastercraft X-5

I would bet that your humming is noise on the RCA cables not the power. Check to see if the ends are touching something at the amp or head unit. Unplug them one at a time and check to see if the humming is better or worse. The RCA cables can go bad, but doubtful. Not being plugged in all the way will cause this also.

Do you have a knob to control subwoofer volume under the dash? I would suspect moisture got into the knob and is causing the noise. You can remove it from the system a plug directly into the head unit and it should be gone, if that is the source.
    2015 Moomba Mojo Surf Edition
    4,000lbs
    Manual Flow