Default '06 XLV will not shift into fwd gear after returning to neutral

I have a 2006 Moomba XLV with the assault 325 motor. When I start the boat and shift into forward gear it shifts smoothly and moves forward. If I return the throttle back to neutral and then attempt to shift into forward gear it will not engage and the rooms will not increase. If I turn the ignition off and then restart it it will shift into forward gear until the next time I put it in neutral again. I have been told that it is an issue in the perfect pass system (original non gps system) and that I need to get it serviced. Has anyone ran across this and know the fix? I am thinking about going ahead and just upgrading to the stargazer gps perfect pass if the problem is in the PP system. Any help would be appreciated thanks!

can you try unplugging the perfect pass and see what happens?
    Scott
    2021 Craz
    2007 Mobius LSV
    1997 Sea Ray 190

I am going to try that first and let you know. I actually just purchased the XLV knowing it had this issue so I am waiting to get it home to start working on it. The previous owner had it diagnosed awhile back and was told the perfect pass was malfunctioning and either needed repair or upgrade. He didn't want it down for repairs so he just put up with it. Just trying to get a head start on it and see if anyone else has the issue.

Took the boat out today and it has same issue with perfect pass plugged in and unplugged. Shifts into fwd and reverse but will not accelerate. Sometimes if I turn off the engine and restart it it will accelerate until I shift to neutral. After going to neutral it will shift into gear but not accelerate again until I turn it off and restart the engine. I have seen people having issues with throttle cables getting stuck in the engine cover and possible throttle position sensor issues. Anyone out there experience this before ?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk

This motor is based on the GM Vortec 5.7, correct?