Default single to tandem axle trailer conversion

I searched the forum but came up empty. Anyone ever converted a single axle to a tandem axle trailer? I'm curious what the cost would be. Sounds like a new tandem is about $5-6k. Thanks!
    2008 LSV. 1100 rear sacs and IBS. ACME prop is next
    Ronix One w/ Parks bindings

Dang - good luck with that. I researched just going from front axle brakes only to adding brakes on the rear axle and abandoned the idea. Can't imagine trying to add a second axle unless you are a welder by trade or have a good buddy who is.
    So when is this "old enough to know better" supposed to kick in?

2001 MobiusV - Slightly Modified...

This would be my opinion, i am not DIY enough to this myself. I am currently in process of replacing a failed axle on my 19 mondo trailer (by a repair facility) (warranty story forth coming after full resolution) and prior axle replacement on my 08 LSV for the failed/recalled torsion axles.

trailer is already tandem, so not a conversion similarity. but the replacement was wrenches only. no welding involved.

myself and buddy did the torsion axle replacement on the 08 LSV. simply jacked up the trailer, unbolted the axle, disconnected brake lines reconnected etc. took us about 3 hours to do. (my buddy is a competent mechanic, i am a competent wrench finder)

the current trailer that is getting axle replaced is tandem with leaf springs. the replacement time for the axle is about 3 hours shop time.

for your conversion, if leaf springs, some welding maybe required for the shackle connection, but i think there are bolt on posibilities, but probably not with the trailer design and the frame configuration.

assume using your current axle, it is probably a 5k capacity reuse it? buy one new axle, $500, tires etc, $300 DIY priceless and free, or shop time, and pay them, $800. maybe $200 more for brakes, if you wanted to go all 4 wheels, but 2 work now, check local laws, and 4 wheel brakes may be required.