Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default DD Tower Speakers volume issues

Hey guys, I picked up a ‘13 Mobius LSV back in November with a good audio system. jVC head unit with 2 (Kenwood or Polk, can’t recall) Amps, a 10” sub box under the port storage, upgraded speakers, etc. All that seems to be working fine.

But the system also has 2 DD Tower Speakers that I’ve been having issues with. They worked fine when I demoed the boat but after towing it back and taking it on a test run, one of the speakers was not working at all. After letting it sit for a couple months, both speakers are now working but will not get to the proper volume at all. They are not nearly as loud as I feel they should be, and the other speakers overwhelm them.

I texted the former owner and asked what he thought could be the issue, he said he had never had any issues but to check the wiring and see if maybe it was knocked loose during the trial run or towing the boat back to my house.

Any thoughts? I’m new to the boat stereo game And perhaps maybe I just don’t know how to use the head unit or volume controls correctly.

Another issue is when I plug-in with the USB wire to the head unit I get some really bad buzzing and popping. This seems to come from the tower speakers.

Thanks in advance!

Battery voltage is always the first thing to check. After that, you may need to do some wiggle testing of the speaker leads and RCA. These can lead to one or both speakers coming and going. The trick is to induce the issue long enough to trace it down. Could be the tweeter(s) cutting out a protect mode due to high distortion/clipping. This is usually a tuning issue.

Thank you! Is there something I can do? We have a pretty good stereo shop here in town that I would trust to do it

Yes, check battery voltage and wiggle speaker leads and RCA to see if you can induce the issue. If you know how to tune an amp, you can check to amp's settings.