Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Trouble upgrading ballast pumps and valves

Hoping I am missing something obvious as I am not an electrical expert. I am simply swapping out the stock valves and empty pumps in my system(they are all either broken or leaky). I was thinking would be fairly plug n play, but maybe not?

I replaced all the empty pumps with these https://www.wakemakers.com/attwood-t...-pump-800.html
    and i replaced the sprinkler valves with these: https://ussolid.com/motorized-ball-v...-polarity.html
    I have the Deutsche connectors all wired up and I am trying to simply test them before mounting everything and I keep blowing the fuses. The empty pump works, then when i flip it to fill the fuse blows. Any help would be appreciated!!
    ~2003 Moomba Mobius LSV

What size fuse is blowing? Whats the current draw of that valve? What if you disconnect the valve and then try to fill?

i have blown 7.5, so then I tried 15 and that blew too. US Solid told me it was 1 amp. If i disconnect the valve and only hook up the empty pump, the pump works, and the fuse blows when i flip switch to fill.
    ~2003 Moomba Mobius LSV

Quote Originally Posted by weldingza View Post
    i have blown 7.5, so then I tried 15 and that blew too. US Solid told me it was 1 amp. If i disconnect the valve and only hook up the empty pump, the pump works, and the fuse blows when i flip switch to fill.
    The pumps are probably drawing 1 amp under no load / while running. Once water gets in there and the pump spools up, the load increases. Typically anything over 10 amps you'll want to add a relay to that circuit. There is some good info here;

https://www.12voltplanet.co.uk/relay-guide.html
    Last edited by Branden967; 01-21-2020 at 03:15 PM.

This points to a short in the fill pump or the fill pump circuit between the pump and switch.