Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Engine shutoff during ballast fill

I have a Moomba mobius LSV (2005). And it has the original gravity 3 system, whenever I fill the ballast, occasionally the whole boat will shut off including all electrical, after about 3-5 mins it will have power come back on and you can start the motor. I know it’s not a lot of detail, but any ideas on what causes that? I looked at my ballast system and drew a rough diagram although I didn’t trace all the wiring. I want to replace the whole thing and intend to, but wasn’t sure if there was an easy fix to prevent this from happening.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Battery and/or alternator is toast.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    2017 Moomba Craz

I was going to guess bad main ground?

does it only do it when filling ballast? does it have any issues starting? doesn't do it when stereo is cranked?
    '06 Supra Launch 20SSV-gone but never forgotten

Could be bad grounds or corroded battery terminals too. highly doubtful it’s anything to do with the pumps. If they were shorting, they’d pop breakers/fuses for the ballast circuit - not shut the entire boat down.

2017 Moomba Craz

It ONLY does it when filling ballast, not at any other time, emptying it doesn’t do it, even when having the stereo on, and charging my phone from the cigarette lighter it doesn’t do it. I was wondering if the electronic valves could be causing a short? But wouldn’t that just flip a fuse or breaker for the ballast system rather than the entire boat?

Quote Originally Posted by Alexander Bowen View Post
    It ONLY does it when filling ballast, not at any other time, emptying it doesn’t do it, even when having the stereo on, and charging my phone from the cigarette lighter it doesn’t do it. I was wondering if the electronic valves could be causing a short? But wouldn’t that just flip a fuse or breaker for the ballast system rather than the entire boat?

I would think the breaker would pop.