Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Default 2019 Supra SL450 having issues getting to surfing speed

I am having issues getting up to surfing speed. 2019 Supra SL 450 with ACME 15x11, 2937 prop running at 5000 ft elevation. Full stock ballast with 500 lbs in each rear locker, 200 lbs of lead mid ship with 6 adults in the boat. zero off set at 11.3 mph and can't get to speed. Funny thing is that it won't go over 3600 rpms and I know the boat can rev higher than that. It doesn't matter if I have autowake on or off. Any suggestions?

Make sure auto launch is on. And set your crossover point higher, say 90%.

The 2019 SL is a heavy boat and you probably need to dump the extra weight when running a big crew. My 2018 SL 400 would run huge groups of people with 500 lb lead and full bag of fuel no problem. My 2019 MUST be heavier because the same lead with no gas in tanks has a harder time getting and holding surf speeds.

I’m working through the same issue you’re describing. I’m still learning the new boat and will check back to see if you find something that works.
    2022 Supra SL 400 ordered!
    2019 Supra SL 400 passed on for summer fun
    2018 Supra SL 400 Arrived and awesome!
    2014 Axis A20 - Sold to a great family
    1992 Supra Comp T6SM
    1999 Nautique Super Sport

Put that extra midship lead in the bow. Would help some

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Would be curious if your launch system is on and if it is, is it calibrated.

You can adjust it to stay deployed longer until you get it on plane.

Ryann’s suggestion of taking the crossover to 90% is what I would try. I believe factory setting is 75%.

2021 Supra SA 400
    2018 Supra SA 400 (SOLD)
    Michigan

I would definitely check autolaunch. For my boat (with the base motor + OJ950) surf speed is never an issue. Even with water ballast, lead, and a crew of over 10.