Hybrid View

Default De winterization guide?

Is there a good resource on how to de winterize your boat to get it ready for the summer? This furom has always been super helpful. I have a 2018 moomba craz.
    2018 Craz, 3000lbs stock ballast, ENZOs, 500lb Lead Ballast, Still chasing the best wave!

I back mine into the water and start it.

Oh, put the plugs in! That’s huge.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

If winteriezed correctly, launch boat and enjoy the day. No reason for a boat to not be turn-key ready for new season.

With that said, some shops choose to leave boat engines with plugs out and hoses disconnected, in order to relieve them of liability if an owner chooses to launch boat for an early spring run, then not re-protect engine and another cold snap happen, and block freezes and cracks.

So unless you know the state that the engine was left in during winterizing, its best to talk with shop that did the winterizing, to find out what needs to be done for making it ready for summer.

Agree with MLA, talk to the shop - it may or may not get you the answers.

Before you want to take a bunch of people out, take it to a boat ramp, back your truck in and leave the boat on the trailer, start her up an look for leaks. Have a light and tool box ready if you need to tighten any hoses. Pretty easy - look for water. If you have time, let her warm-up. People also do this in the driveway with a fake-a-lake or other source of water.

P.S. - this will not work at a busy boat ramp @ prime time - you will not make friends.

P.S.S. - don't be that person on Facebook who forgets the transom plug(s).
    2018 Supra SL400

Quote Originally Posted by dakota4ce View Post
    I back mine into the water and start it.

Oh, put the plugs in! That’s huge.

Quote Originally Posted by MLA View Post
    If winteriezed correctly, launch boat and enjoy the day. No reason for a boat to not be turn-key ready for new season.