Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question How long to break in before you can surf?

I recently purchased a new 2017 Helix. My sales guy went over the necessary break in period with me and how it was important to slowly break in the motor. He said something about not filling the ballast and putting a lot of strain on the motor. I've read the owners manual and haven't been able to locate anything that tells when it's safe to use ballast and start surfing. Sorry for the newb question but this is my first inboard, I'm still learning the ins and outs,and I want to make sure I do the right thing for the motor long term.
    2017 Moomba Helix
    Flow 2.0
    AutoWake
    Surf Edition
    WM Rears 1200s
    Fresh Air Exhaust
    Fat Sac 400s (Midship compartments)
    LeadWake bags

Quote Originally Posted by LAwake View Post
    I recently purchased a new 2017 Helix. My sales guy went over the necessary break in period with me and how it was important to slowly break in the motor. He said something about not filling the ballast and putting a lot of strain on the motor. I've read the owners manual and haven't been able to locate anything that tells when it's safe to use ballast and start surfing. Sorry for the newb question but this is my first inboard, I'm still learning the ins and outs,and I want to make sure I do the right thing for the motor long term.
    I read 10hrs in the Indmar manual but wasn’t sure if that was a bit overkill I would love to know what everyone else has done and results?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My dealer said 6 hours to break in before putting the motor to work, but others here may know better
    '08 Mobius LS. Sold
    '18 Craz "TypeO"
    REV10's, Revo6 xss, Kicker10, Kicker 12 CompR, various LED's

I did 20 and the service at 20 before I surfed, as it’s the hardest on the engine due to the large amount of ballast etc.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    2017 Moomba Craz