Default Question about solid ballast

I just purchased (10) 50lb bags of steel pellets from wakeballast for the port side of my boat when surfing. I'm new to solid ballast and was wondering if I should take them out of the boat when just cruising around so that I don't put unnecessary load on the engine all the time. Then again, I'm thinking it's only 500 lbs....what would you all do? Thanks!
    2016 Supra SA

Quote Originally Posted by mikemskater View Post
    I just purchased (10) 50lb bags of steel pellets from wakeballast for the port side of my boat when surfing. I'm new to solid ballast and was wondering if I should take them out of the boat when just cruising around so that I don't put unnecessary load on the engine all the time. Then again, I'm thinking it's only 500 lbs....what would you all do? Thanks!
    might burn a bit more gas, but it may be a bigger pain to remove.

FWIW - I remove the bags when I tow & store on the lift.

Quote Originally Posted by wolfeman131 View Post
    Too bad I won't have that option
    Matt
    2021 Mojo
    2016 Mojo (sold)
    2012 LSV (sold)

Quote Originally Posted by wolfeman131 View Post
    might burn a bit more gas, but it may be a bigger pain to remove.

Thanks for the input, yea I may remove them when on the lift too. I have noticed the back definitely sags a little bit on the lift.
    2016 Supra SA

I have 400lb in the Mojo

I never remove it. My lift does tilt back a little in the rear but that isn't enough to worry me. I mentally know where the water line is.

For towing I don't remove either. But I'm not over trailer capacity with just that.

Now when I towed from OR to GA I loaded cloths, towels, blankets and stuff blew 2 rear tires and that might have been contributing to leaving solid ballast on board lol
    Malo <--- Means--Evil or Mean One. This explains a lot.
    2013 Mojo 2.5 Skylon Tower. Bestia < Beast >
    [COLOR="#696969"]

Quote Originally Posted by mmandley View Post