Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Fixing vs replacing engines

I replaced my oil last week, and I missed taking the old o ring off the engine. The net is that I ran the engine without oil, and it seized up. Any suggestions.. is it worth trying to have the enginer rebuilt, or just order a new one? For those who are gonna suggest "New Boat", I am working that angle.. but the Mrs wants a kitchen first.
    2003 Mobius LSV Gravity Games
    Total Noob running 1100 in the center, 750s in the lockers.
    JL JX360/4 powering 6 Infinity 621m speakers

First you need to see of that engine is rebuildable. It depends on the damage done already.
    Next is weigh the cost of a new crate engine.

If your original is rebuildable what's the cost of that.

Lastly compare the power difference in the rebuilt vs new.

In cars it pays to keep the original engine and rebuild due to numbers matching when selling.
    In boats it doesn't matter as much.

If I was in your place, if my engine is a 350 and I can get it rebuilt with at least 350hp and 400torque for under the price of a new engine I'd do it.

But after upgrading from the 325 in my 08 to the 345 in my 13 that power and torque difference makes a ton of difference in my driving pleasure
    Malo <--- Means--Evil or Mean One. This explains a lot.
    2013 Mojo 2.5 Skylon Tower. Bestia < Beast >
    [COLOR="#696969"]

I know most will freak out about this response, but did you try and free it? Use a lot of penetrating oil in each cylinder and a large breaker bar..

You may get lucky and it breaks free really easily and runs fine(insert ticking time bomb comments) for a time then have it rebuilt over the winter or find a used engine..
    http://www.instgram.com/jlyons30
    2002 Moomba Mobius LSV - Sold
    2006 Moomba Mobius LSV - Sold
    2017 Moomba Craz - Enzos, Lead

Quote Originally Posted by mmandley View Post
    First you need to see of that engine is rebuildable. It depends on the damage done already.