Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default LED install question

Hey guys ... I am just about to tackle my LED install and I was wondering a few things. I am a total newbie to this so I just had a question.

I have 2 x 6' RGB strips and 14 LED cupholders. I also have a boat plug LED light from Diablo Royale. Here is the link:

http://boatpluglight.com/products/y-...on-3000-lumens

1 - can I just wire all of these up to the existing courtesy light switch on the boat now? Or will all of these be too much of a power draw on them?

2 - I only want the blue from the RGB strips ... can I just eliminate the need for a controller?

I was going to have an installer do this for me but now I feel like just tackling it myself.

Thanks!
    2014 Black/White Mojo
    345HP Surf Motor
    1235 Prop
    Autoflow 2.0 Upgrade
    1100# FlyHigh Rears
    650# IBS
    4 x Exile SXT9q's w/ Exile 30.2 amp and Exile ZLD controller
    Exile Javelin Amp
    10" Rockford sub

Yes you can wire them all into the courtesy light switch, LEDS are very low power draw.
    Malo <--- Means--Evil or Mean One. This explains a lot.
    2013 Mojo 2.5 Skylon Tower. Bestia < Beast >
    [COLOR="#696969"]

That's what I did.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    2013 LSV Red/White

1100lb upgrades in each rear locker!
    Stock 500 Bow ballast
    650IBS
    Manual Flow equipped

Boards
    Hyperlite Hi-Fi "The Illest"
    CWB AMG Carbon
    Phase 5 Razz
    Byerly Volt
    4.6 Ronix Koal Fish
    Phase Five Scamp (kiddos)

what size wire do you use from the led strip to the power? I have plenty of Cat 5 wire.
    2014 Mojo Surf
    2013 Mojo Sold
    2010 LSV Sold
    2002 OB LSV Sold

Quote Originally Posted by mcdye View Post
    what size wire do you use from the led strip to the power? I have plenty of Cat 5 wire.
    I used 16g I had laying around.
    2013 LSV Red/White

1100lb upgrades in each rear locker!
    Stock 500 Bow ballast
    650IBS
    Manual Flow equipped

Boards