Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default '13 Mojo Wakesurfing Setup/Help/Tips

Alright, I'm asking for some help here dialing in my wave. I've got a '13 Mojo, without the flow. I must start by saying that I'm a total newby to surfing and I'm riding a Hyperlite Broadcast (longest model).

My first time out a this year, just a couple weeks back, we ran with the stock ballast and didn't have much luck... especially on the goofy side. Regular side looked ok but the wave was small.

Since then, I placed an order with Wakemakers... I've added an IBS (~650#) and I've upgraded the rears to 900# Sumos.

Tonight was only my second time out, it was just my wife, son and I in the boat and we only tried the goofy side... since that's my side. I filled the center tank, IBS and surf side sumo bag completely and left the non surf side empty. We toyed with speed, running 10.5 ~ 11.5 and adjusted the wakeplate up down and in the middle. We really couldn't get the wave very big and it didn't really seem to want to clean up on the crest.

The best I seemed to get was actually around 11mph with the wakeplate all the way down.

image (1).jpg
    image (2).jpg
    image (5).jpg
    image (6).jpg

I wasn't able to free ride but I rode around the lake for quite some time and was able to take slack out of the rope. I think maybe a few more people in the boat would help and I bet the regular side will be better (the rest of my crew is regular).

Any tips as to where I should be putting speed, wakeplate, etc?

Also, since the board felt like it was dragging a bit, should I remove the center fin or the two outer fins?

I'm already excited to get back out, looking like Friday. Water temp has jumped nearly 20 degrees in just a few weeks

Thanks!
    2022 Moomba Mojo
    2013 Moomba Mojo 2.5 (sold)

Tow - 2019 Ford F150 Ecoboost

I like the Broadcast best with the center fin removed. It's a little slicker and lets you slash a little more.
    My Mom said I'm not allowed to get wet!