Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buffer newb

Hybrid View

Default Buffer newb

Got a nifty black and decker corded buffer for Christmas. Wanting to wax the boat with it but I have only ever waxed by hand. Any tips to keep me from screwing something up?

Casey
    '08 Mobius LS. Sold
    '18 Craz "TypeO"
    REV10's, Revo6 xss, Kicker10, Kicker 12 CompR, various LED's

Small circles, go over several times with different levels of product. Here is a link to the products I ended up using.

http://kearneyville.com/2012/02/27/f...oat-detailing/
    2003 Mobius LSV Gravity Games
    Total Noob running 1100 in the center, 750s in the lockers.
    JL JX360/4 powering 6 Infinity 621m speakers

I buffed my boat fir the first time last summer.

What i learned was to make sure you are always moving, use steady pressure and even movements.

I found some buffer burn on the back and it happened when i was getting tired and tried to rush a bit.

I used terry cloth for the buffing to get off the water spots and then rewaxed it all by hand again.

I also taped things off like the rub rail screws, around anything sharp, rubber, and things of that nature.

Plan to spend some time cleaning the wax spray off the interior as well LOL.
    Malo <--- Means--Evil or Mean One. This explains a lot.
    2013 Mojo 2.5 Skylon Tower. Bestia < Beast >
    [COLOR="#696969"]

hmmm... anyone want to buy a new in the box buffer?
    '08 Mobius LS. Sold
    '18 Craz "TypeO"
    REV10's, Revo6 xss, Kicker10, Kicker 12 CompR, various LED's

Default Buffer newb

Casey, post a bit and/or model number up of what you got. I'm betting it a different animal than a variable speed polisher and much less powerful and you wont have any problem waxing up the boat with it. I use a cordless Ryobi model about every other weekend with regular wax and it's very easy to quickly get a nice coat of wax on the boat.

Default Buffer newb

Quote Originally Posted by chawk610 View Post