Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trans Screech

Default Trans Screech

I have a 99 Outback LS that has 400 hours on it. Last season we started to notice a high pitch screech from the tranny area. The noise was short and very loud. This happened a few times while skiing, never just cruising or at high speed . I checked the fluid level of the tranny and added a trans booster. The problem went away until the end of the summer. Then it happened 5 times during a ski run. We stopped the boat, and pulled it for the year. Could it be the bearings? The tranny shifts fine and has no vibrations under power. Any Ideas? Thanks....Allen
    99 Outback LS

Default Replying to Topic 'Trans Screech'

I thought I posted this already, I’ll try again. It may also apply to the Kanga noise problem.

I’d start with the prop shaft bearings or shaft packing, either too tight or fouled. I think you are chasing the wrong source. I’m not an expert, but I believe tyrannies go thunk, by-by. I’ve never heard of a recurring screech. That’s my guess, worth what you paid for it.

SD2
    Naked red and white 2005 Moomba LSV
    Teaching my kids to Ride, Shoot Strait and Tell the Truth

Thanks Smokedog,

I had seen previous posts about tranny noise, but thought maybe someone had heard something similar. Maybe it is the packing and bearings. The shaft was leaking badly at the end of the season. When I had someone listen to the Tranny (they put their ear right on it as I shifted and took it up to speed) They heard no thunk or unusual noise of any kind. The fluid was not burned and it had no odor or discoloration. We'll check the shaft bearings and replace the rope. Thanks for the reply! Allen

Thanks Smokedog,