Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Opinions on 1st Gen XLV

Thinking of upgrading my '01 LS. Looking for a bigger boat in v drive. Trying to think of what boats to target. What are the board's thoughts on the first gen XLV. I want a boat mainly for wakeboarding and surfing and just a bigger boat for having other families on the water with us. Have an almost teenage son and younger daughter so they also like to tube and I don't want them scared by the wake. At slow speeds, can I get the wake clean back to 65 feet with no ballast? How does this boat surf?

I have a moomba so no need to sell me on the brand - I'm happy with my boat but just wondering what to upgrade to. Probably won't go new or else I would be asking about the Mojo!

Any thoughts? I'm betting someone here has owned or been in or boarded or surfed behind one of these and now has a different boat and can comment?

I've tried searches but can't find much. I seem to recall some discussion that the wake was hard to get clean except at high speeds. I see this from the archive for the 2008 model, which seems to indicate maybe there were some issues with the 2004-07 models:

The XLV has been updated from the hull up, with significant tweaking of its design to increase the size of the wake it throws while cleaning up the wake lip. One pull behind the XLV will make certain you will never underestimate its wake shaping capability.

I'm trying to decide whether to go look at two of these that I've found for sale or hold out for something else.

I can't help ya much other than saying that I'm pretty sure an 08+ will be a huge difference in your 01 LS. The wake on the xlv will take some gettin used to but once you get her dialed in I don't think you can go wrong. Take a lake test in an 09+ LSV also, little smaller but the general consensus here is its the best bang for the buck that's a great cross over for all water sports

Sent from my home phone..
    Jason

Go Hard or Go Home.......it's MOOMBA time!!