Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: ski purchase

Default ski purchase

I am a beginner to intermidiate skier. I currently ski on an O'brien World Team and I am considering purchasing a new ski for this year. I only free ride but still want to rip. The problem is I can't try the ski before I buy. I am considering the Connelly F3 Concept, O'brien Siege. I would consider other brands or models. I want to move up in performance. I would appreciate your opinion.

Default F3 Connelly

We got an F3 a few weeks ago and haven't got to try it yet.

We tried the F1 last year and it was much too squirley for us. You could lay it down really far, but it was tricky to hold it straight if you wanted to cruise a little. The F3 looks like it doesn't have the radical concave of the F1, so I think it will cut good plus give us a chance to rest going straight also.

Our F3 has a double boot set-up, so that will help with real deep cuts. We got a blem, so we saved a lot, and the blem was a little chip out of the top surface of the ski near the fin - no problem and worth $110 savings.

Last year we also borrowed an older Obrien Team ski ( not sure which intermediate model )-- its shape worked real good also but it didn't have the second boot.

Be careful of the little wing on the fin of either ski, cause they rip the heck out of the vinyl seats. Got a ski bag with the F3 to protect us from the ski!

Default Which ski to buy

Most good dealers should let you buy a ski and then exchange it if you don't like it. Just make sure you keep it in good shape.
    And ask them before you buy.

Check ski magazines for reviews depending on your style of skiing, arc or hook-and-pull.

Most of your quicker turning skis do not like to go straight so they normally feel a little snakey in the bubbles. Don't let that drive your choice.

I would avoid the really expensive top end skis. I don't think they are worth it for most recreational skiers.