Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Brian Raymond’s Impeller School

Brian I see you lurking there!

Please tell me (us) about impellers. They appear to me to be a source of consternation and ripe for a design improvement. I used to be an engineer before I went over to the dark side.

What are they and what is their purpose?

What makes them unique on boats vs. cars?

I assume they are plastic, why aren’t they made out of aluminum or other non-fragmentation material? If they are aluminum, can I get one made of titanium and never fuss with it?

What is the failure mode?

If you have a filter before the impeller, could the impeller then be redesigned to be more robust since it is less likely to come in contact with foreign material?

If you have a closed cooling system, do you need an impeller, do you need to replace it, if so, why is it not as robust as the water cooling system of an automobile? If it is as robust as an auto system, that would be one selling point for a closed system.

Next week gel coat - what is it - really

SD2
    Naked red and white 2005 Moomba LSV
    Teaching my kids to Ride, Shoot Strait and Tell the Truth

Brian Raymond Guest

Default Replying to Topic 'Brian Raymond’s Impeller School'