Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Port Side Compartment Sub installation????

I've been pondering this upgrade all summer, but has anyone out there put their sub in the port side under-dash compartment? I think this would be the best place to keep it out of the elements and easiest to wire up! I'm wanting to stick a 12in kicker in there but usual boxe sizes will be difficult due to the fiberglass molding from the dash tray itself. Any suggestions???? I really don't want to place the sub under the steering colum because I don't really want to take the brunt of it. Any help would be very much appreciated since I've never done an audio upgrade before!!!! Thnks in advance!
    CBAarestad

2004 Mobius LSV

I put one in there in a sealed box on my outback. It was a bit muffled but when just floating we would open the seat back on the observers seat. I probably wouldn't do it again.
    My Mom said I'm not allowed to get wet!
    2008 LSV (sold)
    2000 Outback LS (sold)
    LLTR!!!!!!!!

Muffled is the consensus I've heard as well (on many different boats) unless you have it opened or well vented somehow. I debated on adding a second 12 up in there to match the 12 under my helm on the other side but decided against giving up that much storage space. Especially if the additional output isn't all that great.
    So when is this "old enough to know better" supposed to kick in?

2001 MobiusV - Slightly Modified...

I have one in there, and another under the drivers side. I had the single observer compartment sub for a season and a half before I added the second under the dash, and I found that if I pop up one of the bow cushions or the observer seat it gets quite a bit louder, but I wouldn't describe the sounds as muffled, just quieter, still of good quality. I know someone was trying to get the chrome heater vents from Heatercraft to put on that side as a sort of sub vent, that would match the opposite side heater vents, not sure what came of it though.
    2013 Outback V