Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Kamberra

Default Kamberra

Alright guys, surfing newbie here, with the age-old question on proper ballasting, and stupid me forgot my camera last weekend...

I can't afford these new XLV's and such, so I have a '00 Kamberra, pretty much the XLV's predecessor... I have the huge ski-locker bag and 1 in each rear corner, and was running 2k rpm or just over.

This weekend was the first time surfing, and I think I tried every possible combo of ballast and got the best wake with none!?!? I can't get a surfing wake on the left side at all, but with no ballast i was able to get a decent wake on the right side (heel side). I'd much rather start surfing on the left side...I'll be sure to take my camera next time, but does anybody have any set-up hints/suggestions for me to try the next time I go out? Besides not to ski and wakeboard first and get tired out.

Specifically anybody ever surf behind a Kamberra???
    '00 Moomba Kamberra
    '06 Yamaha FZ1 & 6 dirtbikes for me & my kids
    '99 BMW 528it
    '06 Chevy Express 3500 (15 passenger)

Every boat is the same but they are all different too. Let's start with the stuff that's the same. Fill the center or front (ski) locker bag all the way. More weight up front lengthens the pocket and makes for a fun and nice wave to play on. Fill the rear bag on the side you want to surf. Leave the other side empty. Weight in the rear on the surf side makes the wave taller (although a little extra weight in the opposite side or on the platform can give it more power on some boats). If you have a wake plate start with it all the way up. Try about 10 MPH. Use a GPS to figure out your RPM if your speedo doesn't work. Have everyone sit on the surf side.