Thread: Moomba Mufflers

Default Moomba Mufflers

Good afternoon - I have a 2000 Moomba Outback that is leaking in a significant amount of water through the mufflers......one of the options my marina has given me is to remove the mufflers completely. Is this a wise choice? Is the noise without the mufflers significant (will I get all my neighbors ticked at me?) or will I notice much of a difference?

I would be all about taking the mufflers out of my boat if I didn't jam tunes at unnecessarily volume levels while i wake board. I think at idle and slow speeds while the exhaust is under the water line it will be fine. however once you speed up and the exhaust is no longer submerged it might be substantially louder
    David

2017 Moomba Mojo Max Surf Edition, 2 Pair Wetsounds Rev10s powered by an SD2, 6 pair Wetsounds XS650M and Wetsounds XS12 powered by SD6 all controlled by a WS420. 2 Lumitec SeaBlaze X2 Spectrum underwater lights

SOLD***2008 Mobius LSV, Gravity III , Wake Plate, Z5, Exile SX65c's, Exile XM9s, Exile XI12D, Exile Javelin, Exile 30.2***SOLD

Removing the muffler will definitely make the boat louder. not as much at idle but once on plane or close to it, the noise will be totally different. you need to weigh the pros and cons.
    you will need to buy some sort of connector from the riser to the outlet
    you will loose back pressure to the motor, may effect warranty
    you might gain some performance

why not just repair the factory muffler, its made of fiberglass....
    REALLY????

How much does a muffler really effect back pressure? I mean it is just some baffles to cancel out sound waves. I would totally run straight pipes in mine if i could still hear music while boarding lol
    David

2017 Moomba Mojo Max Surf Edition, 2 Pair Wetsounds Rev10s powered by an SD2, 6 pair Wetsounds XS650M and Wetsounds XS12 powered by SD6 all controlled by a WS420. 2 Lumitec SeaBlaze X2 Spectrum underwater lights