Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ocean surfing

Default ocean surfing

Down in CostaRica and tried the real thing yesterday.....definitely harder than wakesurfing and wow talk about having to paddle my arms off tocatch the wave.....thank god you dont have to paddle to catch the boat wake
    09 21v LAUNCH

99 Outback LS. Sold

run your engine after you change your oil
    68 th Member. WS420,HSE Revolution, OJ 466, Acme1157,1100 sacs,Kicker HLCD's n IX500.4, Supra Coolies
    Doug

Smile

Also depends on the size of board and wave size as well.Years ago on honeymoon went to Hawaii and got a monster board,because i was a novice. Could not get up or catch a wave for the life of me. Next day asked for a medium sized board,also much lighter and with comparable waves i was able to get up and ride a few waves.
    The big board was stable but a monster,the smaller board was good and stable enough with a little balance and with practice a small light board would be a lot of fun i think.
    07 Outback DD

I took up surfing when I was stationed in San Diego. Bought a 8'6" board and went a few times a week. I even took a lesson to get started. After about a year, I still suck! It is a workout, so that was good. It really took a lot for me to go out in 58 degree water, but as I sat on my board in the morning before work, occasionally the BUDS (Navy Seals) guys would swim by on their 5 mile morning swim and I didn't feel so cold.
    While I can get up and ride waves up to about 5', I am limited on an skill. After years of wakeboarding and snowboarding, I thought I would pick it up pretty quick. No dice.

One morning when riding with friends from work, I dropped in on a nice large wave and proceeded to get crushed. It felt like 30 seconds underwater, probably a real 15 sec, that really took some confidence away.
    1997 MasterCraft 205

2008 Moomba Outback
    1999 MasterCraft Sportstar OB
    1992 MasterCraft 205
    1999 Malibu Response LX
    1987 Marlin Magnum Skier