Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Wakeboard Rope Length for Wake Clearance

Im riding a 2010 Hyperlite Premier behind a 08 mobius lsv

Ive been riding for a few years not but really started getting into it last year. Im working on clearing the wake. What rope length are you guys using?

Thanks

I ride @ 70 feet @ 23 mph.
    07 Mobius LS--Razorback Red

It can vary by boat, speed, wake size and shape rider skill and of course preference. I've had riders that prefer 65', 70' and 75'. There is no set length.
    2007 Mobius LSV

There will be a sweet spot, varying by boat type, ballast and speed, where the wake is still somewhat narrow but fully-formed. Too long and the wake is wider. Too short and the wake is not fully-formed. In my XLV (with anything over 1500 lbs of ballast), it's around 65' of rope.
    2005 XLV, upgraded ballast, Comptech swivel wakeboard and hydrofoil racks, Monster cargo bimini

73 ft. 22.8 MPH full ballast.
    SUNSHINE DAYDREAMS!!
    2008 LSV
    Wetsounds 3-some on tower. Wetsounds in boat. Wetsounds XS12 Sub. Green LEDs interior.

If you are just starting to learn to clear the wake, I would suggest 60'-65' and back the boat down to about 20-21mph. This will help in that you don't have a large distance to jump, and your not traveling too fast. Once you feel comfortable with that, the length is up to you. I ride at 70' at 24mph with my XLV...all boats vary a bit with weight and size. Its all about practice and what you feel comfortable with. Good luck!
    2006 Mobius XLV