Thread: depth finder

Question depth finder

hello
    i have a Moomba 2004 XLV gravity games edition but it has no depth finder??
    does anyone know if you can fit depth finders to these boats without having to drill the hull etc
    my old chapparal in the uk had a depth finder fitted to it which was just like an aerial under the dash which i dont think needed any sensors or drilling etc?
    i dont want to pay a fortune, but the place here in dubai we use the boat can be really shallow and we have beached it twice already!!

That should be an easy add on. Mine came stock, there was no hull drilling required for it. It appears to be an ultrasound type sensor that is glued to the hull by the vdrive and a gauge mounted in the dash area.
    2014 Mojo Surf
    2013 Mojo Sold
    2010 LSV Sold
    2002 OB LSV Sold

just added one myself-readout gauge went in the dash and the transducer glues down in the bottom of the boat by the Vdrive unit, hook up power and ground. No holes drilled. I used hummin bird brand.
    Hey, Its Moomba time

Its all about the dash - enjoy the dash, as that is your time between the dates
    13 Mobius LSV-sold
    08 Mobius LSV-sold
    03 Mobius LSV-sold
    life is about finding the balance between being a responsible adult and staying young at heart

It's one of those items you don't really think about till you have a boat that has one -- then you can't live without it!
    My Mom said I'm not allowed to get wet!
    2008 LSV (sold)
    2000 Outback LS (sold)
    LLTR!!!!!!!!

Mcdye or Moombadaze, could you send me a picture of where your transducer is glued down? I ordered a Hawkeye, and having issues finding a place where the transducer works glued in the hull. Thanks! 02 OB LSV