PDA

View Full Version : Has Anybody Ridden an Obrien Alias TT?

Boardin'Ohio
12-15-2009, 06:06 PM
I bought a 5' Obrien Alias last winter to learn to wakesurf. During the summer the glue under the foam grip let loose and I was able to hold it together with gorilla glue for the rest of the season. When it initially let loose, I took it to the retailer and they promised a new board at the end of the season (props to 77 marine for working that). New board finally arrived and it turned out to be a 4'6" Obrien Alias TT due to mfg shipping wrong board. Retailer said it was my call whether to keep the TT or get the 2010 model of the Alias.

Has anybody ridden the Alias TT? Most noticeable differences (besides difference from 5' to 4'6") are the lack of a wedge for the back foot and opportunity to put fins on the sides instead of 1 in the middle.

Reviews said the TT was designed to ride more in the middle of the board. I'm still a relative newbie and don't want to throw off the little progress I made last summer (longest I was able to go without the rope was about a minute - no tricks yet).

Any thoughts on whether this is a better board for the next step in learning?

thanks for the advice!

jmvotto
12-15-2009, 11:14 PM
I rode both and was able to free ride on the TT second try.

Russ wilde co-designed the TT for 2009. It rides lower in the water and is designed for more tricks and spins when you get to that level. The alias rides high in the water and is faster.

My .02 keep the TT its worth 100 more ans you will grow into it.

https://forum.moomba.com/showthread.php?t=8856&highlight=wilde+experience

sailing217
12-16-2009, 11:36 AM
I've ridden both too. I'd take a TT over the Alias if I just had one board in the boat, but I'd take the Alias if it was for general friends to leard to freeride and I had a high end board for myself.