PDA

View Full Version : 2005 mobius xlv burning oil

yotaismygame
11-03-2009, 12:44 AM
My 05 mobius was buring a good amount of oil twords the end of the season this year. Took it in to get winterized and the mechanic said nothing seemed wrong, could end up needed a new motor. so the rings or something would be going right? He said go ahead and take it out a few times next season and see what happens. Any ways. The boat only has 150 hrs on it. If indeed the motor is going isnt that very odd considering the hours? Just bought the boat this May(09)

DOCDRS
11-03-2009, 01:23 AM
thats very few hours, did you transfer the warrantee, talk to your car mechanic, maybe its rings , but i'm no mechanic. i would think maybe it may show on a plug, is there a lot of smoke? engine nut larry is the guy you need to hear from. maybe he will chime in

is there oil in the bilge, is the compression good, has the performance changed, is there smoke
i assume everything was fine when you bought it , how many hours did you put on it ,lots more info you can supply

zabooda
11-03-2009, 01:28 AM
It sounds like both you and the mechanic aren't concerned about the engine having issues. I would have had the engine checked out before winterizing so I can sleep better over the winter and not have to stand in line next year waiting for an engine to be fixed. Running the boat a few times won't do anything different than running it a few times before it got winterized. 150 hours is a lot of hours if the engine wasn't broken in correctly and properly maintained.

sailing217
11-03-2009, 09:06 AM
I'd do what DocDRS suggested with all the tests and replace the plugs.

I had a similar with my engine at 35hrs. We changed the filter and oil to amsoil (after doing all those tests and look for oil in the bilge) and I've been running fine since.

Good luck

mmandley
11-03-2009, 01:10 PM