PDA

View Full Version : Marina performs winterization, is this a good price?

graybmg
10-18-2009, 07:47 PM
Hey guys,

I trust everyone here and this is my first year to have a boat. My marina gave me a price list today for winterization $399! It includes:

engine oil and filter change
fuel filter replace
upper and lower gearcase oil change (what is this?)
check and fill power steering
check and tighten belts
grease all fittings
fog engine for storage
drain manifolds and block
add antifreeze
add fuel stabilizer

Is this reasonable? I know it can be done for far less by myself, but I'm not so inclined to want to do this. Is it a jyp? If so, I can call someone else out to do the work. How far off base is it?

Thanks for your help guys!
Brian

sandm
10-18-2009, 07:59 PM
dealer here charges a lot less for that. iirc, it's around 275, 325 with impeller.

seems steep for what you are getting...

check other boat dealerships or ask around for some local mechanics that work out of their own shop.

graybmg
10-18-2009, 08:08 PM
Sandm, thanks for the input. I'm flying blind. Don't want to get ripped off. Also, I guess the skype call will happen at a later date!

moombadaze
10-18-2009, 08:16 PM
hate to say but sounds wrong

there is no upper and lower gearcase oil--thats only for i/o's(inboard/outboard) or outboards have lower gearcase fluid. Now you do have a transmission and posssible v-drive.

there is no power steering on any moomba's--its a cable direct from the steering wheel to the rudder.

no anti freeze unless you have the saltwater cooling system-thats a radiator type heat exchanger.

now its possible they are just qouteing you a generic winterization, and if so your price should be lower cause you dont have some of those items

Razzman
10-18-2009, 08:19 PM
I paid $190 for that very same service as you listed last year. I'd be checking around if i was you.

graybmg
10-18-2009, 08:23 PM