PDA

View Full Version : Bad Gas

Gilly
09-28-2009, 02:18 PM
I'm new to this, about 40 hours on my '08 LSV and we've already had a clogged fuel filter then moisture in the line. With ethanol hard to avoid, does everyone get around fuel-line issues with STA-BIL, or do some prefer Sea foam, or what solutions work best for you?

newty
09-28-2009, 06:25 PM
Sorry I thought you were talking about something else.
I haven't had any issued with our 08 LSV. That said I had lots of gas problems with another boat I had. I added a fuel water seperator and that seemed to stop the problem. You just need to replace the filter once a year. The filter is quite a bit bigger than the factory one. It almost lokks like an oil filter. I would also put some fuel stabilizer in the boat and top off the tank before you put the boat away for the season. Given the problems you've had up till now that should help keep any problems from progressing while it sits.
You may also want to use super unleaded when you top it off.
Good luck.

_sT_
09-28-2009, 06:40 PM
That raises a good question - what grade fuel are you using? I always put in at least 91 octane in my old Moomba. In fact I've done that with all the boats I've owned so far.

newty
09-28-2009, 06:43 PM
I typically run 89 in mine with an occasional supreme tank.

sandm
09-28-2009, 07:33 PM
only run what the manual states. believe it's 89. . any more and you are pouring $$ down the tank.
higher octane fuels are not good in engines that are not force fed or high compression. they don't burn right.

otherwise some good suggestions from newty....
replace the fuel filter regularly
water separator is not a bad idea
stabil or something similar in a FULL tank of gas when stored(eliminates room for condensation) actually a good idea to find a local station that sells non-ethanol blended fuel for the winter fill, but that can be tough to find in today's market