PDA

View Full Version : Rope Lengths, Boat Speed Question

futuredeadguy
08-02-2009, 04:30 AM
Hey All:

I'm a wakeboarding newbie, although I competed in slalom events back in the day - 1980s.

I need some help. I have an '05 Mobius LSV. Fat sacks, wakeplate, Perfect Pass. Bought it when my kids were only interested in tubing hoping they'd love the real stuff later. Now they're getting serious about wakeboarding. I'm curious about what has worked for you as far as rope lengths, fat sack and wake plate settings and tow speed, especially if you have a boat like mine.

My older son (age 14 and small for his age) likes 19mph as a speed he's happy with, but it's not working with his jumps, flips, etc. I'm pretty sure it's due to rope length, ballast settings, etc. Here's a video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=05S9PFeWWWo.

Please view it and give me some suggestions as to what we may be doing wrong with our particular configs. Sacks were empty on this set. Wakeplate full down. Rope length 50.

Thanks for any help.

Jim - Nashville

mmandley
08-02-2009, 06:41 AM
Hi there futuredeadguy.

I watched the vid a few times to see what i can figure out there.

The reasons i see that might be the main issue are hes actualy hitting the smaller part of the wake. Its just starting to clean up and not be washy.

Id start by extending his rope to 60, 50 is short even for new people. 70 is wear most intermidiate people ride and 75 top 80 is pro length.

Boat speed looked good, the way ya tell if the boat speed is right is looking for that nice dark wave. If its washy then your too slow, or weight in the boat isnt set right.

Im sure if you extend his rope he will hit a larger section of the wake and it will want to toss him higher in the air. Other then that its just a matter of getting the timming down for hitting the wake for that pop.

Wake plate % down versus ballast versus speed are all dependent on people in the boat and water conditions.