PDA

View Full Version : Noises behind the transmission on an 01 Outback LS

weston579
07-21-2009, 08:30 PM
I’m new to DD boats and need a little help. I have a 01 Outback LS. It sounds like a rattling between the back of the transmission and the prop. when I put it in gear. It only makes the sound at a very low speeds. Is there anything I need to grease or tighten? Could the packing need to be replaces?

mmandley
07-23-2009, 01:09 AM
This might be a cavitation issue due to slow speeds with certain types of props. I know the LSV's like mine tend to be very noisy at slow speeds and taper off as you get past the 8 to 9 mph speeds.

Not sure if this is the same issue your having since your in a 01 LS but i think its bery simular.

weston579
07-23-2009, 10:41 AM
thanks i will look into that next time im out. i was talking to a local mechanic abbout the problem and he said it might be a strutt bearing

zegm
07-24-2009, 10:46 PM
Packing is a seal and not a support so I don't think that is your problem. So I would do a couple things:
1.st) Inspect the coupling between the prop shaft flange and the output flange of the transmission to see if it has come loose. Check for loose bolts here.