PDA

View Full Version : Mechanic says I need new carburetor, I need advice

graybmg
06-26-2009, 11:40 PM
My mechanic tried the carb rebuild kit but says my Moomba now needs a new carb. I have a 2001 Outback with the Holley carb. 350 hours and I bought it used just a few months ago. Runs great at WOT but when I pull into the dock I get black smoke and it stalls. Running rich. So it does sound like a carburetor issue.

Question is, where do I find the right carburetor at the right price? Websites? Local auto parts place? Do I have to get the same carb? Also, I don't want to purchase at the marina at full price.

I am not very experienced with engines so whatever advice anyone can offer would be great.

Thanks,
Brian

graybmg
06-27-2009, 08:41 AM
I don't have the boat with me, does anyone know if the stock carb is 2 or 4 barrel?

maxpower220
06-27-2009, 08:44 AM
You may want to find the "right mechanic" at the right price. Someone who knows carbs should be able to fix the one you already have. Of course, with the hourly rate so high these days and the cost of carbs going down, it may be cheaper to buy a new one.

Shop around with a search on the internet "marine carb" will probably get you in the right direction.

brownski
06-27-2009, 11:05 AM
I agree with Max, I'd check with another mechanic. Hard to believe you would need a new carb at 350 hours. Also I believe it is a 4 barrel.

james yarosz
06-27-2009, 07:43 PM
The carb is definately a 4 barrel.Any decent "hot rod" mechanic should be able to rebuild a holley in about an hour.Make sure he replaces the power valve,that's probally the problem.

Suprahunter
06-27-2009, 10:20 PM
James is on the mark. Holley's are one of the easiest carbs to build. You could probubly do it yourself . Get a kit from Skidim any decent mechanic should be able to do it . It does sound like a blown power valve problem.

graybmg
06-28-2009, 12:26 AM