PDA

View Full Version : How some people get so much air?

chutch
05-20-2009, 09:33 AM
I have a 98 Moomba Outback and have been wakeboarding now for about 2 years. I see these people out on the lake and they just launch really high and get a lot of air. I can jump and clear the wake and all of that but I don't get the air that these people do. What I am wondering is how much does the boat have to do with that? Most of these guys are in V-Drives with the engine in the rear and ballast systems their wakes look a little bigger but not that much. Of course I have about 300lbs in the back plus what ever people we have on the boat to try and make a little bigger wake.

Does it come down to technique? Do I just need to grow a set of balls and hit the wake faster? Or as long as I am in this boat I won't be able to launch as high? I bought "The Book" and watched it last year and tried to do what they say but I just am not getting that much air. I am sure it is something that I am doing wrong. One thing that I have noticed is that I always let go of the handle with one hand and have lots of slack in the rope when I land which makes it really hard to hang on when the boat jerks the rope out of my hands. Is that normal? It seems like what little I have seen on TV those guys always have tension on the rope even when they land. Is that right?

Any tips?

Razzman
05-20-2009, 11:43 AM
It's split, technique and the boat. The guys getting really big air are riding long lines at higher speeds and know the techniques to hit the wake to launch them.

he boat side is the wakes are big, firm with steep ramps to get them up there. I pulled a buddy last weekend on my LSV and he scored the biggest air he's ever got he said, even over his Sanger V215 which is a heavier and wider boat. BUT i pulled him faster and my LSV has a bigger and steeper ramp too though.

A consistent pull is a major portion as well. The driver has to maintain a consistent speed or it'll mess you up as well.

tprkolbas