PDA

View Full Version : Adding a 2nd Battery & Isolator???

Vern
05-19-2009, 10:27 AM
I have a 2005 Moomba Mobius LSV. I want to hook up a second battery with an Isolator.

Has anyone attemped this?

Is there an enticer wire from the alternator to the battery, if not do I need to wire one in and where do I connect it to the alternator?

My Biggest concern is the big red cable coming from/going to the starter (where it gets hooked up to) and what I need to do regarding hooking it up to the alternator. Running a seperate wire to it etc?

Pros and cons of such set-up?

Razzman
05-19-2009, 10:57 AM
Vern, welcome to the forum!

There are no cons to a dual batt setup other than the initial cost.

When adding a another batt you don't mess with the existing factory wiring at all other than to possibly reroute under the forward storage compartment.

I would recommend the Blue Sea 7650 Add A Battery (http://bluesea.com/category/1/productline/overview/329)setup, imo there's nothing better.

IMO Costco Marine Deep Cycle Batteries are good with a good price for most people.

Loonytik
05-19-2009, 11:05 AM
I installed the Surepower combiner over the winter and it works perfectly. No switches to worry about....it does it all in one.

Heres the link...

http://surepower.com/separator.html

Email them and they will help you with any questions.

kdub
05-20-2009, 01:46 PM
I agree with the sure power battery separator, they produce aome great stuff and have been around since the 50's, here is some info on them as well http://www.ase-supply.com/Sure_Power_Isolators_kits_s/20.htm

Vern
05-22-2009, 09:14 AM
Thank you all for your input.

Vern

NCSUmoomba
05-22-2009, 02:31 PM