PDA

View Full Version : Understanding filling and draining of balast

HaulnSS
05-03-2009, 03:56 PM
I have an 03 Moomba Mobius with a single ballast "tank" under the rear seat. This is a white plastic tank that the seat itself sits on. The ballast fills fine, but I had to manually drain it.

Here is the part I don't understand, I have the Rule HighFlow livewell pump that pulls the water from the lake to fill the ballast, after that, is the solenoid. I don't understand the purpose of this, as I only have one tank, the hose continues through a Rule Aerator pump and into the bottom of the ballast. Is this typical? It just doesn't make sense to me, how does this drain the ballast? The aerator pump kicks on, but doesn't drain the tank. I disconnected a quick disconnect after the solenoid to drain the ballast into the hull.

Are both pumps (fill pump and empty pump) suppose to be on the same hose? Where is the ballast suppose to drain in this scenario?

Any help would be appreciated!

jasonwm
05-05-2009, 01:38 PM
I have not seen a Mobius with that specific system installed, but your description is very detailed and sounds accurate.

Moomba uses the same basic setup, regardless of how many bags or tanks are installed in the boat. In your system, the solenoid is preventing the tank from draining when the boat is running, which can happen due to the venturi affect caused by the water flowing over the thru-hull intake. In boats with more than one tank/bag, the solenoids are used to route the water from the one fill pump to the various locations depending on which switch on the dash was turned on.

It's important to understand that the pumps you have are aerator style pumps, which DO NOT block the flow of water when they are turned off. That's why it is possible for the fill and drain pumps to essentially be connected to the same hose.

Here's the basics of how your system functions:

Filling: