PDA

View Full Version : Ski School and CC

maxpower220
03-30-2009, 07:00 PM
While on vacation, I took a lesson at McCormicks (sp) outside of Tampa, FL. I am a self taught slalom skier, so I suck. The instruction was good as they immediately pointed out three things that I need to do better, which I was unaware that I was doing. I have read books on skiing, but instant feedback on form is something no book can give. I would recommend the school, but don't do it as the first ski of the season (like I did). I was tired by the end and had problems getting up the first couple of times. Also, take your own equipment.

They use Nautiques at the school, so it was fun to ride behind a different boat. I was on a CC 206, which is very compatable with the Outback. At 15 off and 28.5 mph, the CC had a slightly smaller wake, but not by much. Overall, it was nice, but not $20K more nice. It did have Zero Off and I had a chance to play around with it. It is a little more complex than the youtube video made it seem, but still pretty easy to use. It is definately a much better pull than Moomba cruise.
I plan to get more lessons this year after I ski myself back into shape and correct the 3 items.

deerfield
03-30-2009, 09:04 PM
The instruction was good as they immediately pointed out three things that I need to do better

maxpower - What were the three things? - Deerfield

maxpower220
03-30-2009, 11:08 PM
Despite my thought that they were, straighten my arms. Funny, I never have tired or sore arms after skiing (and I am weak). I also lock my front leg out, so I have to concentrate to keep it bent. I lock it out in the turn and never flex it. More weight on the front foot. I pretty much knew that one, but they explained how the ski will react. They gave me a good tip for getting up, by slanting the ski.

I concentrate so much in not breaking at the waist, I think that is why my leg is locked out and I ski with too much weight on the rear foot.

kaneboats
03-31-2009, 11:12 AM