PDA

View Full Version : First Crank of the engine for the season?

04OUTBACK
02-28-2009, 10:45 AM
This is my 3rd spring with an inboard...everytime I crank the boat for the first time, I cringe at thinking about it being completely empty of water prior to me cranking it. I plan on spraying the impeller with some lubricant first..
probably will use the fake a lake instead of putting it in the lake for first time.

Any other suggestions?

Thanks

smokedog2
02-28-2009, 11:57 AM
I believe the impeller sits dry between rides anyway, so I'd be less worried.

mapleleaf
02-28-2009, 05:18 PM
I'm still new to this so some advice would be good, this'll be my first spring with an inboard, and the warm weather get can't here fast enough!
Still 2 month's out.......2 long month's

maxpower220
02-28-2009, 06:11 PM
For winterization, some leave the hoses disconnect (some reconnect them). You can always fill the block with water and connect the hoses. This should/will have some water on the discharge side of the impeller. I usually hook up the flush kit/fake-a-lake system. This also allows you to check the oil pressure (you should have changed the oil/filter during winterization) and oil level. It will also ensure that you battery and electrical functions.

mapleleaf
02-28-2009, 07:11 PM
I did an oil change just befoer the end of the season up here. Still best to change again???
All my hoses are disconnected now and the cylinder's have been fogged...
Going to replace plugs, wires and distributor cap before I hit the water.....

Mikey
02-28-2009, 09:22 PM
Oil will be fine the others you can do if you feel necessary or the hrs on boat/motor warrant it.I'm waiting impatiently as well.

mapleleaf
02-28-2009, 10:23 PM
it's a '90 conbrio, bought it in august, owned by a camp and treated like it. I'm redo'in just about everything....
turns out it's a pretty big list!!!!

04OUTBACK
03-01-2009, 11:01 AM
well,