PDA

View Full Version : new to wakeboarding

unstableconcepts
01-18-2009, 09:11 PM
Hello all,

I've been browsing the forums for a little while and finally decided to post. I am very interested in buying a Moomba but have some questions for anyone who has the extra time to read this and help me.

I am new to wakeboarding but have gone water skiing many times. I have never tried to wakeboard because no one I knew ever had a board. We just moved to a house on a small boating lake in Wisconsin and I'm eager to try it this summer.

We have two kids that I'm hoping will be able to start skiing or wakeboarding but I at least know they will be tubing.

So my questions are as follows:

Is a Moomba a good first wakeboarding boat? Is it good for tubing as well? The prices are right and a lot of people online talk highly of them on other forums.

What model should I be looking at? I saw some at the Chicago boat show the other day and couldn't see many differences between them.

Is it likely that I will be a decent wakeboarder by the end of the summer? I'm curious as to how steep the learning curve is. I like learning new things and it wouldn't be a bad thing if I still suck by the end of summer, but I'm just curious.

If we say my budget is $25k, would I be better off buying a couple year old Moomba or an older competing company? I don't see the difference so my preference is for the newer boat with the good message board :)

Thank you all for reading this and hopefully helping me!

zegm
01-18-2009, 10:18 PM
Now is the time to buy a nice used Outback with the optional Tower!!!!

murraymoomba
01-18-2009, 11:07 PM