PDA

View Full Version : Destroyed Rudder

Kelsey
08-11-2008, 08:45 PM
This last weekend while wakesurfing we hit a rock and ripped the rudder right off. Amazingly, I can't see any other damage. Not even a ding in the prop. Is this possible? I have checked the seals around the shaft and the steering hardware. Everything looks fine, but I'm not an expert. I have researched a lot and it sounds like it's not too tough to repair. Anybody know of somewhere where I can find step by step instructions?

It is an 04 XLV

tazz3069
08-12-2008, 09:04 AM
Sorry about the mishap. OUCH!!!!. You may be able to find a replacement ruddder with instructions from www.skidim.com. Hope this helps.
Tazz

2000OUTBACK
08-13-2008, 12:21 AM
That sucks but atleast you did not do any more damage!!

kaneboats
08-13-2008, 10:03 AM
Should be able to get the whole rudder assembly from skidim. Make sure you get the right one for your port or else get a new port.

Kelsey
08-13-2008, 03:53 PM
Naive optimism I guess. I heard back from the dealership today. Apparently the shaft and strut need replaced as well. But the prop is fine. How can I hit my strut and rudder and not the prop? Is the dealership ripping me off?

My deductible is $750 which is less than the materials if I were to do it myself. That kind of makes it a no brainer I guess.

kaneboats
08-14-2008, 04:53 PM
You might have hit the rudder and bounced right past the prop and whacked the strut when you came down.

Kelsey
08-14-2008, 07:35 PM
I thought about that scenario too.

We were moving forward so it would have to be hit the strut, bounce past the prop and then hit the rudder. I suppose its possible but highly unlikely. What are the chances my strut was already bent and I didn't notice? There would have been some vibration or something right?

kaneboats
08-15-2008, 09:37 AM