PDA

View Full Version : Vibration at low speed

docpetersen79
08-06-2008, 04:27 PM
I have a 96 Moomba Boomerang, and when I engage it into gear it has a slight vibration, but when I accelerate it goes away. Is this normal or do I need to worry about shaft alignment or a worn tranny?:confused:

OldeBoy
08-06-2008, 11:17 PM
What would you classify as low speed? idle? What is your RPM when this occurs?

2000 Boomerang

docpetersen79
08-07-2008, 04:49 PM
When I first engage it into gear the RPM's are about 600-800, then as soon as I push on the throttle it goes away.

OldeBoy
08-07-2008, 09:38 PM
does it vibrate more when the engine is cold? Mine engine ran a little rough at idle when in gear when it was cold before it was tuned up. Kindof felt like I was lugging it.

docpetersen79
08-08-2008, 11:51 AM
It doesn't matter if it warm or cold.

RYAN
08-14-2008, 12:11 PM
Start with the simple stuff first, look at the prop, really look at it (don’t just look at it for 2 sec and move on). Look at the prop from diff views, spin the prop, do all the blades look the same. I say this because, I took my prop in to the boat mechanic I use and he noticed that one of the blades was bent just a little bit. After he balanced and fix the problem, the vibration that I had which seams similar to yours was gone. If you are thinking the shaft is bent, it takes a lot of force to bend that shaft. If you have hit an object with a significant force then maybe it could be bent.

docpetersen79
09-06-2008, 01:58 AM
Does anybody have around a 96 Moomba that came from the manufacture with the engine not centered and where the shaft goes through the hull not aligned with the strut? I pulled up the floor boards in my boat and saw that the piece between the strut and engine was not aligned at perfectly with the engine and shaft.

OldeBoy
09-09-2008, 09:11 PM
can you post a picture to clarify your question?

zegm
09-09-2008, 10:21 PM
doc,