PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about buying an 2002 Mobius LSV

RobertJ
07-22-2008, 05:38 PM
Hello, I live in Salem, Oregon and I am thinking of making the switch from stern drive to v-drive. My wife realy wants to surf. we currently wakeskate, wakeboard, kneeboard, tube, and BBQ, with our 20.5 foot stern drive. I have been looking a v-drives for awhile but the price has been the biggest factor. I have a couple of questions about the older LSV's. I have three children 5-12 years of age and I mostly go out on lakes. My concern with the older LSV's is the shallow freeboard. How well does this boat handle rough lake conditions? I am also looking at a carborated motor verses EFI. Our currrent boat is a carborated boat.

Thanks for your help.

P.S. this is my first time posting a thread, I am goofy 40 year old.

04OUTBACK
07-22-2008, 05:46 PM
As far as Carb vs EFI, I had 04 Outback with Carb and had no probs with. Cranked easily, etc. Maintenance on Carb is EASY.. those engines are JUST like the old 350's we grew up with.. not too much electronics in them... Plenty of folks on here have carb Moombas.
I know that the older LSV Hull is the new Outback V and many on here have them and love them.. There is a little more freeboard in the new lsv;s (06 newer).. The LSV has more freeboard than my Outback did.. you should be fine..

Good luck .. hope you get what you want

RobertJ
07-22-2008, 06:43 PM
Thanks for the info. I am planning to demo the boat this weekend but it will be on a river.

moombadaze
07-23-2008, 08:07 AM
that is a very good hull, you can do everthing with that boat.--and it looks great on the water

JesseC
07-23-2008, 09:25 PM
I have that exact boat and I love it!!! It was my first direct drive coming from a 24 foot Formula. We wakeboard, wakesurf, wakeskate and ski with this boat. I absolutely love it. For skiing it has a farely noticeable bump in the wake, but I will never be good enough to really have an issue with it. I still have a really good time.