PDA

View Full Version : calibrated speedos

Laz
07-12-2008, 09:13 PM
Hi. I was wondering why it seemed so much harder to complete the slalom course behind my boat than behind the Nautique at the ski school.

So, today I used a Garmin GPS watch to callibrate the speedometers which were off by 2 mph. When I was going 32 mph behind my Outback it was actually 34 and I'm not that good at the course. After calibrating, I suddenly became a much better skier.

The slalom wake is really impressive.

Laz

BensonWdby
07-12-2008, 10:37 PM
Laz
Old school calibration, running a 13x13 prop (I think) was 3000 RPM = 30 mph and you can generally count on 3200 = 32 and 3400 = 34. Depends a bit on passengers and head/tail wind (on lake not river). So when both of your speedos take a snooze, make sure your driver knows those conversions.

What ski school did you go to? I bet they had Perfect Pass - which will also be a bit different pull than drive-by-hand, especially coming out of the turn .... And let's not forget the difference water temperature makes to how the pull 'feels'...

Glad to hear you are hitting your 32's. Is that long line or 15 off???

Dave

Laz
07-12-2008, 11:40 PM
I'm at 15' off. I was at the McGinnis ski school in Florida in April and this week I had a less at McClintock's which is about an hour's drive from my house in Toronto.

So far I'm using the Moomba Cruise, but am seriously considering getting PP StarGazer. Now that my 32mph is a real 32mph, I've noted that the wake and feel on my boat absolutely matches the Natique. As you can see, my skiing is not sensitive enough to tell the difference between Moomba Cruise and PP.

If I get PP, it's mostly so my driver (wife and father). Can take me at a consistent speed.

Laz

Mikey
07-13-2008, 07:06 PM
I don't know about the star gazer version of PP but there is a big difference from Moomba cruise and PP wakeboard pro which i have. Star gazer was not available when i got mine.