PDA

View Full Version : Help Please, Motor at half power...???

gearheadstik
07-05-2008, 10:47 PM
Hi, I have a 2001 moomba mobius with the 5.7 indmar. A month or so ago I was finishing up a day on the water when my boat all the sudden lost a lot of power, I thought at the time I was running out of gas, but made it in... The next week only a hour into the day it did the same thing. This time i figured it could be water in the gas. It was not, I had replaced cap, rotor, plugs and wires at the begining of the season, so I didnt think it was any of that. I went back the nest week with a new ignition module installed thinking that was it, but no luck... I have since replaced coil, cap, rotor, wires, and map sensor... No change.. I was a car dealership mechanic at one time but guess this is over my head. I just wanted to stop in here and see if anyone else had ever had this same problem and what it ended up being. I have flashed my ecu for codes and they are none.. The boat always runs great for 10min or so then just acts like it is starving for fuel, which is what I think is happening "through some type of electrical problem"... even though one of the first things I did was check fuel pressure during the porb, It was great so that's not it either. I can move the throttle to all positions, start and stop, with no changes out of the boat... I can cut it off then back on and most of the time it acts great for a few minutes then starts the problem again... No smoking or backfires. If anyone has any ideas please chime in... When working at a ford dealership I nearly never heard of a ecu having to be replaced, so I have to purchase one and it not be that.. Thanks for any help lended.

kaneboats
07-06-2008, 12:27 AM