PDA

View Full Version : CWB Pure 140cm

tazz3069
06-19-2008, 09:19 PM
I just picked up my first board today. Kinda of excited to learn to wake board. I have been skiing for over 30 years now and want to try something different. It ia the CWB Pure wakeboard 140 cm with the Torq Hinge boots. I am going to try it this weekend. One question, for me, a beginner, how should I set up the boot? I was told to leave a little tow out. Is that good or should I be straight forward in the begining?

04OUTBACK
06-19-2008, 09:40 PM
Tazz.
I set mine with a slightly open/duck stance. Jump straight up and when you land, note your width of your stance.. this will be a good starting point.
I will look for the set up instructions that came with my last set of bindings.. it gave 3 scenarios for beginner, inter and advanced.
Most beginner setup instructions set up for riding only on your dominant / normal stance.
I think that was more of your back foot perp. to the board and the front open.. this helps feel the stance a little til you get your body used to twisting!!

NCSUmoomba
06-20-2008, 02:29 PM
Yep, jumping up and down and noting the position of your feet is the best way. I think for my next setup, I may dip my feet in something (water, corn oil, paint?) and jump onto several pieces of cardboard so I have a record of where I land. I can then take the average and set the bindings up perfectly. From what I hear, if you don't have the proper amount of "duck" in your bindings, when you land hard, that is what can cause knee injuries. I know one girl who is really good, she moved her bindings just a bit one day to see if she liked it, then I think she crashed on a backroll, and tore her ACL. So binding placement is serious.