PDA

View Full Version : Stereo cutting out at high volumes

MinnetonkaMobius
06-10-2008, 01:49 PM
Purchased my 2000 Mobius V about a year ago and havent had any problems with the system until last week. Sometimes it works at low volumes but when I turn up the volume, the speakers will cut out with the subs still continuing to hit. Other times the speakers will not work at all, even at low volume.

I bought the boat with all of this equipment already installed and as you can tell I have little experience when it comes to workiing with stereo systems.

Equipment:
Head Unit- Pinoneer
In boat speakers- Polk Audio
Tower speakers- Sony Xpoldes
Subs- 10'' Kicker, 12" Rockford Fosgate
Amps- Not sure on the wattage of each but I can check if this could be the problem

Any one have any clue why this might be happening????
Thanks for the help!

Razzman
06-10-2008, 01:53 PM
Sounds like a ground issue. That's the first thing i'd check.

MinnetonkaMobius
06-10-2008, 01:57 PM
I checked the ground wire and it seems to be solid.

tlatoani
06-10-2008, 02:48 PM
There should be a ground wire going to each amp. If the sub keeps going, then that amp is probably ok. Check the others. Are they all grounded to the battery directly?

teamctl
06-10-2008, 03:24 PM
Try turning down the volume on both sides of your amp. Then slowly increase the volume to the sweet spot. I have a hunch that one side of your amp is turned up too much.

calpal10
06-11-2008, 01:58 PM
I had some issues like this last year, two things were wrong: 1) bad battery - crackling sound out of speakers at low and high volumes, once i replaced it, it worked great except 2) 1 set of outputs on the back of the deck were bad. I think it was just from use, bouncing from waves and moisture?? replaced both and back to 100%.

MinnetonkaMobius
06-12-2008, 11:31 PM